39+6 (or…induction day!)

Today is 3rd May. Tomorrow is 4th May. Or May 4th – often referred to as Star Wars day (May the 4th be with you). It’s also my due date tomorrow and the day that has been at the forefront of my mind since it was randomly given to me at a scan 28 weeks ago.

I know your due date is a fairly arbitrary date, as only 5% of babies actually make an appearance on this day, but there’s a fairly good chance that I might have a Star Wars baby after all; this morning I am going into hospital to be induced.

Although my diabetes has been no problem – I’ve had 3 high readings in 8 weeks, all through misjudging the amount of carbs in a meal – they don’t like women with gestational diabetes to go beyond 40 weeks, so Baby is being evicted today.

I have tried everything to bring on labour naturally, hoping very much not to have to be induced – except pineapple, as it has too much sugar in. I’ve tried acupuncture (ยฃ160 worth of it!), taking 6 raspberry leaf capsules a day, walking for nearly an hour every day, sex, bouncing on a gym ball, and a hot curry last night. But, I’m going to have to admit it, Baby really won’t be enticed out until he’s ready. Or until they induce me!

I am hoping that the acupuncture wasn’t a total waste of money. It definitely made me feel different, and I’ve felt Baby moving down a lot. At my cervical examination this week she was actually able to give me a sweep, whereas last week that wasn’t possible. I was only about 1/2cm dilated though!! Fingers crossed when I get in this morning it’ll be a little further along!! The acupuncturist assures me that even if the treatment doesn’t induce labour (and she did say it’s only successful in around 50% of women), it often leads to quicker labour and an easier birth. I’ll take that!

So here I am at 7am, lying in the bath, thinking about what the next 24 (36? 48?) hours have in store. I’m running through all of my positive birth affirmations from Lazy Daisy and the hypnobirthing book I’ve read, and hoping that things don’t take too long to get going today.

Right now, however, I had better get myself sorted and shave my legs – wouldn’t want to lose my dignity in the next couple of days or anything…!!

So I’ll leave this with a few photos from the last couple of weeks. I’ve been nesting furiously so haven’t found much time for blogging.

A new (more practical and baby friendly) haircut

20140503-071550.jpg

Our room ready for Baby’s arrival

20140503-071727.jpg

The bump at 38 weeks

20140503-071832.jpg

A sunny walk

20140503-071917.jpg

A sunny selfie ๐Ÿ™‚

20140503-071959.jpg

My treat to myself after I’ve had the baby – a homemade salted caramel chocolate cake ๐Ÿ™‚

20140503-072142.jpg

And my current view – not for much longer!!

20140503-072231.jpg

Wish me luck!!

3 thoughts on “39+6 (or…induction day!)

  1. Good luck! I’m right behind you at 38 weeks and I’ve enjoying following your pregnancy. Here goes nothing, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

