Week 27 Pregnancy Update

I haven’t done one of these updates for a while, so I thought it would be nice to catch up on how my pregnancy is going and what’s changed.

26 weeks and 3 days

Weight gain:
Oh I don’t know. More than I’d like, but it could be worse. I don’t weigh myself, so I’ll keep myself in the dark!

Maternity clothes:
…are pretty much all I fit into now! I have lots of pairs of jeans and a couple of pairs of jeggings from Sainsbury’s (I went to get some more in another colour as I love them so much!). I bought a pair of work trousers from a rather dubious website, which, when I received them, had all the labels cut out. I’d be more concerned if I didn’t really like them – but they’re great! Smart and over the bump, so I can stay comfortable at all times. I’ve also bought a couple of maternity tops in the Jojo Maman Bebe sale (and a few cheeky baby clothes while I was there too!) – one is a wraparound top which is lovely but  a little low cut – too much so for school anyway! The other is a smart shirt style patterned top which is really comfortable and has loads of room for me to grow. Other than that, and a couple of jumpers for school from H&M, I think everything else is the same as it was.

Stretch marks:
None so far – fingers crossed! I’m using Palmers Cocoa Butter Stretch Mark cream at night, as it’s really thick and takes a while to dry, then Bert’s Bees Mama Bee Tummy Butter in the morning, as it’s so light and easily-absorbed. These seem to be working well so far.

Sleep:
I’ve just written a post on sleep for the blog that I contribute to over at Mummy & Little Me. It’s not too bad, but I’m having to be propped up with lots of pillows and have to sleep with a pillow between my knees to ease the pelvic pain I’m getting. Also – THE craziest dreams. EVER.

Exercise:
Still mainly walking the dog, but I’m enjoying my fitness DVDs and mostly do the 10 minute solutions Pilates one when I’m at school and therefore not getting out dog-walking. I’d still like to do more, but swimming is less appealing now that I have pelvic pain as I’m not allowed to do breast-stroke and I’m appalling at all other strokes.

Best moment this week:
My Lazy Daisy class. It was the fourth week of a six week course, but things just seemed to click this time. I was able to breathe more naturally and then at the end, we do a sort of hypnobirthing relaxation session, with lots of positive mental images. This week, for the first time, I felt myself slipping into true relaxation. In the past, it’s always seemed a bit forced and awkward and I could never fully relax. They’re absolutely brilliant and I’ve signed up for another term of them. I fully recommend them if you have them near you. It’s a quarter of the price of hypnobirthing and I think it’s brilliant.

Worst moment this week:
Having to have time off work from my pelvic pain. It’s really debilitating. Having said that, a really interesting physio session, some careful management, an amazing Anita Maternity Babybelt and some specific exercises (and some rest) have helped a lot.

Miss anything?
Not especially. Again, running and riding my horse have been regular features on the list of things I miss since I stopped doing them. I’d say proper, get your heart pumping, make you red in the face, hardcore exercise would be high up this week.

Movement:
Lots! Baby is moving consistently every day now, although he likes to scare me every now and again and have a quiet day. As I type this, with my laptop on my legs and resting against the bottom of my bump, I can feel him wriggling and squirming away. Sometimes the kicks feel really low down, almost as if he is trampolining on my cervix. That’s a little unpleasant, but mostly I just find all the movements a little ticklish and quite funny. I love that Mark can feel them regularly now too. And we even saw some kicks yesterday – Baby was doing very odd things to my belly!

Food cravings:
Not particularly. I still love bacon and salty foods, but am wanting a lot more chocolate again now. Not helping with the weight gain!

Symptoms:
Pelvic pain (sorry to go on about it!) Also being very forgetful and feeling very tired. I also feel like my heart rate is quite fast – I’m going to ask the midwife about that at my next appointment.

Mood:
Good, generally! I find that I get stressed and emotional much more easily than I would normally though. Something fairly trivial will cause a huge stress and have me in floods of tears. Which is odd.

Looking forward to:
Half term! Mark and I are going to have a few days away. I don’t know if you can call it a Babymoon – although it will be the last time we go away just as a couple. We’re going up to Yorkshire for a few days and staying with his aunt and uncle (saving pennies!!). The plan is to do a bit of walking in the Dales, spend a day in York and generally do some touristy stuff, like go to some museums etc. I can’t wait!

I’m going to do a proper post on my Lazy Daisy classes and how I’ve found those. So I’ll be back soon!

Sorry the picture’s so dark – I don’t really have the facilities to take bump pictures when I’m away! But here’s my very low, slightly pointy boy bump!

20140129-212721.jpg

Leave a Reply

